Plain cigarette packets, really?


Now frankly, I don’t smoke, never have, never will.

I can’t though see any mileage on blank cigarette packets, what would that achieve?

Do people really smoke because of coloured writing on a packet?

Would a white packet stop teenagers from trying out cigarettes?

If anyone can help me see reasoning I would listen but until then I remain puzzled.

Then comes Andrew Lansley comment in The Times:

The minister told the Times that he was “open minded” about putting the idea of plain cigarette packaging to the public, but added: “We don’t work in partnership with the tobacco companies because we are trying to arrive at a point where they have no business in this country.”

What would happen if tobacco companies disappeared?

Would people refrain from smoking?

Again, although, as stated, I don’t smoke I really can’t see that happening in my lifetime and if tobacco companies didn’t exist, what would people smoke?

It doesn’t bear thinking about.

One thought on “Plain cigarette packets, really?

  1. I am a smoker and the illogical reasoning behind plain packaging and display bans makes me want to smack my head against a wall. The succession of health secretaries coming out with utter nonsense like Lansley boils my blood tbh – why is it fair to denormalise smoking? It hasn’t worked with drugs…

    Like

Leave a Reply

